A Crushing Heartbreak for the Unbeaten Team India as Australia Lifts the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Trophy

The heartbreak for India continues as Australia wins the World Cup 2023.

Indian Captain Rohit Sharma, Mohammad Siraj and Virat Kohli(From Left to Right, in order) crying after the heart-wrenching loss against Australia
[Photo Courtesy: The Hindustan Times]

The ODI World Cup finale took place at Ahmedabad's Narendra Modi Stadium, where India hosted the tournament, featuring powerful competition among ten nations, passionate crowds, and influential performances. Despite the excitement, the final resulted in heartbreak for billions of Indians, as Australia lifts the Cup for the sixth time last night. 

Australia Men's Cricket Team for ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023
[Picture Courtesy: xsmanchester.co.uk]

In the crucial toss, Australia's captain, Pat Cummins, won and chose to field first to avoid challenges with a dewy ball at night. Despite India's strong start, including outstanding knocks by Captain Rohit Sharma, early wickets fell, with Gill departing early and Rohit exiting just before the end of the powerplay.

India's batting effort, led by Virat Kohli and K L Rahul, resulted in a total of 240 all out in 50 overs. However, the target proved challenging, especially with the dismissal of key players like Kohli. Australia's wicketkeeper, Josh Inglis, set a record in the World Cup final by taking five catches.

Team India In ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023
[Photo Courtesy: The Hindustan Times]

In the second innings, Australia's chase of 241 runs began strongly, with David Warner's early wicket taken by Mohammed Shami. Despite efforts from Indian bowlers like Jasprit Bumrah, Australia's batsmen, particularly M. Labuschagne and Travis Head, secured a crucial partnership that led Australia to victory. The Aussies duo broke India's strong bowling lineup and smashed big runs. Travis Head scored a century, breaking India's strong bowling lineup and securing the World Cup for Australia by six wickets.

While the chances of  India winning the trophy was quite high this year, looks like history repeated itself. On can not stop comparing how similar the 2023 finals turned out to be like that of the 2003 finals, where Australia defeated India by 125 runs.

Team India In Cricket World Cup 2003
[Photo Courtesy: The Hindustan Times]

After a total of 48 matches, played among 10 nations, India and Australia made their way to the finals. India who played remarkably well this year, won all the matches displaying an outstanding performance through out the game. Australia on the other hand, is known for their meritorious performance and indeed have a long history of winning the title. In 1987, they lifted the cup for the first time. This was followed by their victory in 1999, 2003, 2007,2015 and finally, 2023. The first win for India came in 1983 after defeating West Indies. In 2011, Team Blue lifted their second cup after defeating Sri Lanka in the finals.

The men in blue, had made us go gaga over their exceptional performance this year. With a team as solid as this, there were high hopes to get the trophy home this year. Despite India's hard work and numerous milestones in the tournament, Australia emerged victorious, causing another heartbreak for Team India. It would be absolutely unfair to however not acknowledge the hard work put by each of the Indian players. Like they say, ‘ With You In Victory, With You In Loss’

India Team Statistics Throughout the World Cup
[Photo Courtesy: Google]



Tania Mukherjee


Priyanka Ghosh

0/Post a Comment/Comments

Previous Post Next Post